Eurachem 2023 Review

Published: 16 May, 2023

The Eurachem Analytical Measurement Competition (EAMC) is a significant initiative originally launched by Dr. Sean Cawley of IT Carlow in 1999. It's supported by Eurachem Ireland, the Technological Universities, and Universities across Ireland.

Open to full-time, third-level registered students studying laboratory sciences in any Irish University or Technological University, the EAMC encourages students who have not yet embarked on their third year of study to participate. Selection for the competition is based on students' practical laboratory skills, as determined by their respective institutions.

After a three-year intermission, the School of Chemical and BioPharmaceutical Sciences at TU Dublin recently announced the return of the EAMC 2023. This year, Technological University Dublin played host to 23 student teams from seven national Higher Education Institutes (HEI), representing 12 campuses, at the 21st National Eurachem Analytical Measurement Competition held on April 21st. The event organising team consisted of Dr Hani Toma, Dr Maureen Walsh, Dr Sinéad Currivan-Macdonald with support from the technical staff.

Eurachem 2023 Staff 2 and winners

(Left to right) Dr. Maureen Walsh, Dr. Hani Toma, Karina MacDuff, Ass. Prof. John Behan (Head of Discipline), Madalina Burduv, & Dr Sinéad Currivan-Macdonald


Organisers Eurachem 2023

(Left to right) Prof. Declan McCormack (Head of School), Hugh Gallagher, Áine McParland Dr. Hani Toma, David Saville, & David Farrell


Our heartfelt congratulations go out to all participants. We were pleased to welcome our prize sponsors, including Rosemary Hayden from the Irish National Accreditation Board (INAB), who had the honour of presenting awards to the runners-up, the winning team, and the winning university.

First Place Eurachem 2023

(Left to right) Winners Madalina Burduv & Karina MacDuff presented with their trophy by Rosemary Hayden Manager of INAB


The runners-up included Aoife Morris and Conor Burke from Trinity College Dublin, and Caitlin Chapman and Szymon Oniszk from SETU - Carlow Campus. The triumphant team was Karina MacDuff and Madalina Burduv from TU Dublin, Tallaght Campus. We extend our gratitude to our three independent judges from Forensic Science Ireland and Takeda Pharmaceuticals Ltd., for their meticulous work throughout the competition. As we reflect on this year's successful event, we are already eagerly anticipating next year's EAMC competition!

Runners up Eurachem 2023

(Left to right) Runners-up Szymon Oniszk & Caitlin Chapman presented with their trophy by Rosemary Hayden Manager of INAB

About Eurachem

Eurachem is a renowned organisation of Professional European Analysts, closely affiliated with international entities dedicated to advocating high standards and dependability in analytical measurements. It serves as an authoritative reference for global standards, providing guidance on best practices, laboratory accreditation, and legal benchmarking to a diverse clientele including industry, governments, and other stakeholders. Eurachem Ireland, stationed at The State Laboratory and comprising members from governmental bodies, industry, and the education sector, regularly conducts workshops and seminars. These educational events cover a range of topics such as validation, measurement uncertainty, and traceability (