European Commission President visits Grangegorman

20 Jul, 2021

President of TU Dublin Professor David FitzPatrick welcomed the Taoiseach Micheál Martin TD and President Ursula von der Leyen to Grangegorman. On arrival to the Central Quad, President Ursula von der Leyen was greeted by EU Commissioner Mairead McGuinnessMinister for Finance Paschal Donohoe,  Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Michael McGrath and Thomas Byrne, Minister of State for European Affairs.  

Donning TU Dublin labcoats, the delegation met with TU Dublin researchers Dr Catherine Barry-Ryan from the School of Food Science & Environmental Health and colleague Dr Lubna Ahmed from ESHI, who spoke about two EU funded projects, AleHoop and Up4Health. Two ESHI PhD students Hitika Shah and Maame Manful also gave a quick demonstration.