Membership Profiles

Membership Profiles

Charles Larkin (Discip. Schol.) B.A., Ph.D. [TCD] is Director of Research at the Institute for Policy Research at the University of Bath. He was previously special advisor to the Chairman of the Oireachtas Committee on Health, Dr. Michael Harty, TD (Ind.) and to Senator Sean Barrett (Ind.) of the Irish Senate. Dr. Larkin is also an adjunct assistant professor at Trinity College Dublin, Johns Hopkins University and the Institute of Public Administration (Dublin). Dr. Larkin has authored several items of Irish legislation and over 60 scholarly articles, most especially in the areas of finance, cryptocurrencies and public policy economics.

Jerry Grant is a Non-Executive Director & Strategic Advisor in the Water Services, Infrastructure and general Utilities sector, is an expert in media & stakeholder engagement and provides strategic consultancy advice in the planning, procurement and contract management of large complex projects. In addition to his Consultancy business, he has set up and chairs Watershare Ireland, a partnership between GOAL and the Irish Water sector, which is helping to deliver water & sanitation projects in Uganda, Sierra Leone and Zimbabwe at present.

Jerry was Managing Director of Irish Water from early 2016 to September, 2018 during a pivotal period for the national water utility, when it overcame major political & public opposition to achieve broad acceptance in delivering public water & wastewater services to 1.6 million households and 200,000 business customers. He led a company of over 700 staff, along with over 3,000 staff in local authorities delivering operational services and the largest investment programme in the public sector, reaching over €650 million in 2018. As the first Head of Asset Management in Irish Water from April 2013, he built a 200-strong discipline at the core of the national water utility, took control of a major capital program (over €3 billion pipeline) from the Department of Environment, produced the first national strategic plan (25 years) for the services, while establishing the policies, standards, systems and processes to manage 2,000 major treatment plant assets, another 5,000 above ground assets and over 90,000km of networks.

Prior to Irish Water, Jerry was Managing Director of RPS in Ireland from 2002 for 10 years, leading a successful infrastructure and environmental consultancy and previous to that was Director of MCOS from the early 1990’s, where he led a market leading water sector consultancy business. Jerry holds a First Class Honours Degree in Civil Engineering and a Diploma in Contract Law & Arbitration from UCD, is a Fellow of Engineers Ireland, Fellow of the Irish Academy of Engineering, is a Member of the Institute of Arbitrators and of the Institute of Directors. He was the recipient of the President’s Award from the ACEI in 2017 for Services to Engineering in Ireland.

Aileen O’Toole is a Digital Strategist and a Chartered Director. She is a journalism graduate of the College of Commerce, now part of TU Dublin, and was Ireland’s first female Business Editor. She is a Co-Founder of The Sunday Business Post newspaper and was a member of the team responsible for building one of Ireland’s leading media brands. Aileen established a digital consulting business in 2001. She combines her advisory work on digital strategy, technology, marketing and communications with board roles. A fellow of the Marketing Institute of Ireland, Aileen has been involved in several initiatives to foster female leadership talent.

Pamela Kelly is a Lecturer in Sociology, School of Humanities, TU Dublin, Blanchardstown since 2004. Pamela was an Academic Staff Member on both the Governing Body, Blanchardstown Campus from 2012–2018, and the Joint Governing Bodies Strategy Steering Group from 2017-2018. Pamela was awarded the National Teaching Hero Award in 2014 by the National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning. Pamela is passionate about gender equality and diversity, access and widening participation in higher education, higher education policy and teaching and learning.

Dr Susan O’Shaughnessy is a lecturer in German and Erasmus Academic Coordinator in the School of Languages, Law and Social Sciences and the Year 3 coordinator for programmes in the Department of Languages, currently based in the TU Dublin City campus at Kevin Street. Susan has degrees in French and German, Spanish and Humanities, an MA in German and a doctorate in higher education (EdD) from the University of Sheffield. Susan has taught German, European Studies, Communications and Professional Development in the Bolton Street campus and Spanish in Cathal Brugha Street, as well as English for Academic Purposes to Erasmus and international students across the City campus.

Éilish Finan (CD, CBD, PDCG, FCA, BA; BAI), is a seasoned Board Director and Chair with 30 years’ experience in the Financial Services Industry.  Her portfolio of board memberships includes J.P. Morgan Bank (Luxembourg & Ireland), Metlife Europe & Chase Paymentech Europe among others.  Éilish served a 4-year term as a Board member of the National Asset Management Agency (NAMA) (2009-2013) and New Ireland Assurance Co (2014-2020).   Éilish spent 17+ years as Executive Director & CFO with AIG Global Investments.

Éilish trained with KPMG as a Chartered Accountant and is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland.  Éilish also carries an Electronic Engineering Degree and a BA in Mathematics from Trinity College Dublin. She holds a Diploma in Corporate Governance from the UCD Smurfit Executive Business School. She is a Chartered Director (IOD) and a Certified Bank Director (IOB).

Éilish is currently Chair of the TU Dublin Governing Body Finance and Property Committee.  She also served on the Disbursement Committee of Basis.point Charity from 2012-2018, the Board of Social Finance Foundation (SFF) from 2012-2018, and the Management Board of a second level school from 2013-2018.

Dr Martin Marjoram is a mathematics lecturer in TU Dublin, Tallaght Campus since 1999. I have lectured in the Schools of Engineering, Business and Humanities across a range of mathematical topics. Martin has conducted research in the representation theory of finite groups as well as mathematical education and has published and presented his work widely. He is the President of the Teachers’ Union of Ireland (TUI), having previously been Branch Chair of the Tallaght Branch of TUI and an Area Representative on the TUI national executive.