TU Dublin Awards Highlights Research and Innovation Excellence

Published: 9 Nov, 2023

TU Dublin celebrated excellence in Research and Innovation at an awards ceremony held in Grangegorman on Monday night. Given for the first time this year, the awards recognise the incredible impact of the university’s research and innovation community in pushing the boundaries of knowledge to create a better world for all.

Among the winners were Economist Dr Catarina de Moura Pinto Marvão, whose research was used by the European Commission’s Competition Department (DG-Competition) in designing policies to detect and deter cartels and Dr Sajad Alimohammadi, who won the Early Career prize for his work in the design of a novel device to replace rotary fans in server rack cooling devices, which could revolutionise data centre thermal management.  

The award winners were announced at an event hosted in the University’s Concert Hall in Grangegorman, with Claire Mac Namee, Head of Enterprise Engagement at TU Dublin, officiating the proceedings and Professor Philip Nolan, Chief Executive Designate for the new Research and Innovation Ireland Agency and Director General, Science Foundation Ireland providing the keynote address.  

Professor Nolan said at the awards: "The quality and diversity of research celebrated in the TU Dublin Research and Innovation awards is just outstanding. It demonstrates the strength of TU Dublin as a research university, delivering new knowledge and real solutions to the challenges we face as a society.” 

In congratulating the winners, Dr Brendan Jennings, Vice President for Research and Innovation, discussed the outstanding quality of the 150 applications from all over TU Dublin and highlighted the research and innovation impact shown throughout each award. “It is important to acknowledge tonight’s distinguished researchers and innovators and their important contribution to Irish society. Our research community is addressing global challenges such as climate change, public health, and social inequality in the pursuit of research excellence that has, and continues to shape the world we live in.” 

The inaugural awards, which were established by the Engagement and Impact Office within Research and Innovation at TU Dublin, highlight the commitment to research and innovation excellence from all disciplines across the university under ten research headings: Early Career, Established Career, Provision of Support, Research Supervision, Multidisciplinary Team, Innovation Impact, One-to-Watch, Research Engagement, Climate Action and Sustainability Education. 

Winners include Dr Daniel McCartney, who won the Innovation Award, showing outstanding social impact for his research into the link between Vitamin D and COVID-19. Professor Pat Goodman won an award for Climate Action, demonstrating real-world impact through his research studying the increased mortality associated with climate change and potential mitigation policies. Dr Dympna O’Sullivan received the Multidisciplinary Team award for her work in developing a computerised toolkit for dementia self-management to support persons with dementia to live independently. 

The theme of innovation was continued through the unique award plaques presented to the winners, designed and 3D printed by the team at CreateLab. The ceremony was live-streamed, and the video will be available in the coming weeks via the TU Dublin Research and Innovation website.  

The TU Dublin Research and Innovation Award winners are: 

  • Early Career: Dr Sajad Alimohammadi 
  • Established Career: Dr Catarina de Moura Pinto Marvão 
  • Provision of Support: Dr Kerry Houston 
  • Research Supervision: Professor Hugh J. Byrne 
  • Multidisciplinary Team: Dr Dympna O’Sullivan (Smart Self Care for Dementia) 
  • Innovation Impact: Dr Daniel McCartney  
  • One to Watch: Dr Kieran Collins & Fiona Ryan (Propeller Project) 
  • Research Engagement: Dr Susan McKeever 
  • Climate Action: Professor Pat Goodman 
  • Sustainability Education: Dr Cormac MacMahon 

Read more about the Research and Innovation Awards.