School of Management, People and Organisation Students Podium at the Lazaridis International Case Competition (LAZICC)

Published: 8 Dec, 2023

A team of students competed from the School of MPO recently competed at the Lazaridis International case Competition at Wilfrid Laurier University Waterloo Canada (LAZICC) -

This is an annual multi-round case competition comprising 16 business schools from around the world.   Including in this year’s edition, the Haas School of Business at the University of California Berkeley, Copenhagen Business School, the University of Technology Sydney and the American University of Beirut.  As in those other such competitions in which School of MPO students compete, the teams apply the knowledge and skills they have acquired in the classroom to design and present strategic solutions to a range of companies over a week of intense competition.

The team,  coached by Dr. Eoghan O’ Grady, comprised four final year students on the BSc Business and Management programme (TU903) - Alice McNabb, Chris O Sullivan Dunne, Cian Hanley and Jack Guinane.

The Team was drawn in a Division with Copenhagen Business School, Budapest Business School and the University of California Berkeley . The teams analysed issues and presented solutions to three companies during the week. TU Dublin (Pathfinder Consultants) won their division and progressed to the Grand Final where they competed against the other three divisional winners – the University of Hong Kong, Simon Fraser University and the University of Technology Sydney.

At the Closing Ceremony, TU Dublin were announced as second runner up I.e. in 3rd place.  Alice was announced as “Best Overall Speaker”.  Team Coach, Eoghan O’ Grady described both as “fabulous achievements” and added “no-one should under estimate the amount of effort required to qualify for LAZICC never mind that then required to be competitive and so successful. Alice, Chris, Cian and Jack deserve great credit for competing with great distinction and being fabulous ambassadors for the School, Faculty and wider University”.